nomadclouds.blogg.se

How to use mac os on virtualbox
How to use mac os on virtualbox








  1. #How to use mac os on virtualbox how to#
  2. #How to use mac os on virtualbox mac os x#
  3. #How to use mac os on virtualbox manual#

RAW host disk access VMDK file BC7.vmdk created successfully. JBs-MacBook:BC7 Jim$ sudo vboxmanage internalcommands createrawvmdk -rawdisk /dev/disk0 -filename BC7.vmdk -partitions 4 After re-reading “Access to individual physical hard disk partitions” (paragraph 9.8.1.2) in the VirtualBox UserManual, I was able to setup the correct command line like so:

#How to use mac os on virtualbox mac os x#

After adding a post to the VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts forum, one of the site moderators (mpack) showed me the error of my ways and that I had not invoked the createrawvmdk command with the -partitions argument which is required to generate the MBR file. Number Type StartCHS EndCHS Size (MiB) Start (Sect)Ģ 0xaf 1023/254/63 1023/254/63 274167 409640Ĥ 0x07 1023/254/63 1023/254/63 30258 563173376Īfter downloading and installing the 4.1.6 Mac OS version of VirtualBox and the Extension Pack (I had had problems with the 4.1.8 version before and the 4.1.10 version was not out yet), I tried using the vboxmanage createrawvmdk command to regenerate the vmdk disk description and MBR files, but found that I only had generated the disk description file and not the MBR. JBs-MacBook:BC7 Jim$ sudo vboxmanage internalcommands listpartitions -rawdisk /dev/disk0 Below is a view of the hard disk partitions, using the vboxmanage CLI command: Upon investigation, I found that when Lion was installed, the hard disk partitioning had been shuffled and partition 3 was now the MacOS Recovery partition and the bootcamp partition had been moved to partition 4. The bootcamp partition had originally been setup as partition 3 on my hard disk under Snow Leopard.

how to use mac os on virtualbox

When I got around to trying to bring up Windows 7 via VirtualBox on my MacBook Pro, it failed miserably. I never could get a Windows XP Bootcamp based Guest running on my iMac and finally gave up on it.Ībout a month ago, I updated both of my Macs to run the new MacOS release Lion. Finally in the Spring of 2011, I was finally able to setup a Windows 7 Guest virtual machine from a Bootcamp partition on my MacBook Pro. There are many forum threads on this subject, many of which I have contributed to.

#How to use mac os on virtualbox manual#

It did not work and the instructions in the manual were fairly complicated and involved delving into the Mac CLI, as the VBox GUI did not (and still does not) allow you to perform this setup. But I was disappointed when I tried to setup my existing Bootcamp Windows partition as a VirtualBox Virtual Machine. Since it was OpenSource (and free), I decided to give it a try. I started looking at VMWare Fusion and Parallels as a solution.

how to use mac os on virtualbox

This worked well for a few months until I got tired of having to reboot the Mac to run Windows via Bootcamp. Since the Intel Mac allowed me to run Windows via Bootcamp, I was able to use this to run the Windows version of Quicken, since the Mac version of Quicken was not very good.

how to use mac os on virtualbox

When I first got an Intel Mac in the summer of 2008, I decided that I could finally get rid of my Gateway PC running Windows ME.

#How to use mac os on virtualbox how to#

How to Use a MacOS Bootcamp Partition as a VirtualBox Guest Virtual Machine










How to use mac os on virtualbox